Skip to main content

Rutgers New Jersey Medical School Names Dr. Steven Kirshblum as Chair of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Steven Kirshblum, M.D., Senior Medical Officer at Kessler Institute for Rehabilitation and Chief Medical Officer at Kessler Foundation, has been named chair of the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (PM&R) at Rutgers New Jersey Medical School. Kirshblum, internationally recognized for his work in the field of medical rehabilitation, is also the Chief of Service at University Hospital in Newark.


Stevens Institute of Technology Names Dr. Jean Zu as Dean of Schaefer School of Engineering & Science

Christophe Pierre, provost and vice president for Academic Affairs at Stevens Institute of Technology, has announced that Jean Zu, Ph.D., P.Eng., an accomplished scholar of mechanical vibrations and dynamics, and mechatronics, has been named the new dean of the Charles V. Schaefer, Jr. School of Engineering & Science (SES) at the university following an international search.


Seton Hall Board of Regents Appoints Dr. Mary Meehan as Interim President

The Board of Regents of Seton Hall University on March 23 voted unanimously to appoint Mary Meehan, Ph.D., a highly respected higher education and healthcare leader, as well as a former Seton Hall administrator and university alumna, as its interim president, effective April 11. Meehan’s appointment allows Seton Hall President A. Gabriel Esteban to focus full time on the transition to his new position as president of DePaul University.


Governor Christie Signs Bill Appropriating $34 Million for Higher Education  Construction

Gov. Chris Christie on March 14 signed legislation, strongly supported by the New Jersey Business & Industry Association, appropriating the remaining $34 million from a voter-approved bond issue for construction projects at higher education institutions. The appropriation is the balance remaining from the $750 million Building Our Future Bond Act that voters approved in 2012. The 32 colleges and universities whose proposals won state approval for this latest round of funding had to detail how their projects served students and aligned with New Jersey’s workforce needs.



Innovation NJ-Sponsored Event: NJCU Presidential Speaker Series Presents Dr. Bonnie Bassler at Liberty Science Center April 19

The Liberty Science Center and New Jersey City University (NJCU) are pleased to present their third annual lecture on Wednesday, April 19. Innovation New Jersey is pleased to be one of the supporting organizations for this free lecture which is open to students, teachers, and the general public. Registration information can be found at


Rowan’s South Jersey Technology Park Signs Agreement with Multinational Animal Health Firm HIPRA to Build HQ, R&D and Manufacturing Facilities, Create 200 Jobs

Rowan University, in conjunction with Senate President Steve Sweeney and Lt. Gov. Kim Guadagno, on April 6 announced that the Spanish multinational veterinary pharmaceutical company HIPRA will establish its North American headquarters at the South Jersey Technology Park at Rowan University in Mantua Township, New Jersey.



NJIT’s Biomedical Engineering Program Ranked #1 Best Value in New Jersey

The New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT) offered the best value biomedical engineering program in 2016 for undergrads in New Jersey according to This program is also ranked eighth nationally. NJIT’s biomedical engineering program is part of the Newark College of Engineering (NCE), the oldest and largest professional engineering school in the United States.



New Jersey Ranks Fifth in Patents Awarded in U.S.

Michael Hill reports on NJTV News that the New JerseyTech Council (NJTC) says the world can marvel at the inventions created in the state and New Jersey’s spirit of innovation – innovations such as researchers at the Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory putting the world one step closer to creating fusion energy.

“Eventually, we want to use the energy that comes out of these fusion reactions, much like comes out of the sun, to convert heat to electricity,” said Jonathan Menard, program director for NSTX-U.