Skip to main content
10th Annual Women Business Leaders Forum Register Today!

Businesses and institutions in the Greater Shore Area can now apply for vouchers to offset the cost of purchasing zero-emission vehicles under the $20 million expansion of the state’s Zero Emission Incentive Program (NJ ZIP).

With the announcement this week of the pilot expansion, nearly $45 million has been allocated to date by the New Jersey Economic Development Authority (NJEDA) for this clean energy initiative. NJ ZIP was made available to entities in the greater Newark, Camden, and New Brunswick areas earlier this year.

The NJEDA program helps businesses and institutional organizations offset the cost of purchasing new, zero-emission medium-duty vehicles (MDVs). Applications are accepted on a rolling basis at

The size of vouchers awarded through the program varies from $25,000 to $100,000. Bonuses are available for small businesses (fewer than 25 staff or less than $5 million in annual revenues); women-, minority-, and veteran-owned businesses; vehicles that are manufactured in New Jersey; and small businesses that scrap their eligible MHDVs. More information on eligibility and processes is available at

For the purposes of this latest pilot expansion, NJEDA defines the Greater Shore Area as  overburdened communities within or intersected by a line set at a 10-mile distance from New Jersey’s eastern Atlantic shore, spanning approximately from Sandy Hook Bay to Delaware Bay.

Included are the following municipalities: Absecon, Asbury Park, Atlantic City, Barnegat Township, Berkeley Township, Bradley Beach Borough, Brick Township, Brigantine, Cape May, Colts Neck Township, Eatontown Borough, Egg Harbor City, Egg Harbor Township, Farmingdale Borough, Galloway Township, Highlands Borough, Holmdel Township, Howell Township, Keansburg Borough, Keyport Borough, Lacey Township, Lakewood Township, Little Egg Harbor Township, Long Branch, Lower Township, Manchester Township, Middle Township, Middletown Township, Neptune City Borough, Neptune Township, North Wildwood, Northfield, Ocean City, Ocean Gate Borough, Ocean Township, Pleasantville, Point Pleasant Beach Borough, Red Bank Borough, Seaside Heights Borough, Shrewsbury Township, Somers Point, South Toms River Borough, Stafford Township, Tinton Falls Borough, Toms River Township, Tuckerton Borough, Union Beach Borough, Ventnor City, Wildwood, Woodbine Borough.

NJ ZIP is funded using proceeds from New Jersey’s participation in the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative (RGGI), a multi-state “cap-and-trade” program regulating carbon dioxide emissions.