Skip to main content
Affordable Employee Training Exclusively for NJBIA Members LEARN MORE

Assembly Speaker Vincent Prieto has announced that he will not seek the Speakership again for 2018, clearing the way for Middlesex County Assemblyman Craig Coughlin to assume the top spot of the legislature’s lower house.

As reported in, Prieto said, “Today I am announcing that I will no longer be seeking a new term as speaker, and that myself and the rest of the Democratic caucus will support our colleague Craig Coughlin.  I look forward to working with Assemblyman Coughlin to ensure a smooth transition.” (read the full story here)

On the Senate side, the Democratic Majority re-elected Steve Sweeney as Senate President and Loretta Weinberg as Majority Leader. (Go here for more)

Tom Kean Jr. was chosen  by his colleagues to once again serve as the Senate Republican Leader and Jon Bramnick was re-elected as Senate Republican Leader.