OverviewOn May 2, 2018, Governor Phil Murphy signed a law which requires most private sector employers to provide at least 40 hours of paid sick leave in a 12-month period to every employee for their own diagnosis, treatment, or preventative care, or, for that of a family member. This Fast Facts helps employers understand the […]
Effective January 1, 2007, P.L. 2006, c. 85 requires New Jersey businesses to withhold 7 percent from payments to construction contractors who are unincorporated and not registered with the New Jersey Division of Revenue, and to forward withholdings monthly to the Division of Taxation. Under this act, the business owner is also made liable for […]
—Overview— On April 24, 2018, Governor Phil Murphy signed P.L. 2018, c.9 which makes a series of changes to the New Jersey Law Against Discrimination (NJLAD) including requiring employers to actively justify differences in salaries. This Fast Facts will help businesses understand the changes. —Background— Enacted in 1945, NJLAD (N.J.S.A. 10:5-1 et seq.) prohibits […]
Before you offer your neighbor’s 15-year-old a summer job, make sure you know the laws about employing minors; employers have certain obligations and restrictions that they don’t have with adults. Summer is right around the corner, and the annual search for a summer job by high schoolers will soon be underway. To make sure NJBIA […]
Sorry, this is member only content Please Login, Or Become A NJBIA Member to Continue.