New Jersey’s paid sick leave law took effect Oct. 29, and it will impact just about every business in the state one way or another. While the regulations have not yet been finalized, employers still need to comply with the law.
Except for per diem healthcare workers and businesses with a collective bargaining agreement in place, employers of all sizes must provide up to 40 hours of paid sick leave to all full-time and part-time employees. They can provide all 40 hours at the beginning of the benefit year or allow employees to accrue sick leave at the rate of one hour of leave for every 30 hours worked.
Employers must establish a benefit year that is the same for all employees. Hence, benefit years cannot be provided based on employees’ anniversary dates.
Employers using the accrual method can begin keeping track of the hours nonexempt employees actually work or simply assume they work 40 hours per week for accrual purposes.
Employers must notify their employees about the new sick leave law and post information in their workplace no later than 30 days after it’s made available by the Commissioner of Labor. Go here to download the poster.
Here are some resources for employers:
- New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development FAQ
- Proposed paid sick leave regulations
- Answers to implementing NJ’s paid sick leave law
- Some things you can and can’t do under the new paid sick leave law
- Keep good records to prove you comply
- Existing PTO policies and NJ’s paid sick leave law