Skip to main content
Affordable Employee Training Exclusively for NJBIA Members LEARN MORE

Mary M. Zimmermann, a member of the board of trustees of Union College of Union County and chairwoman of the college’s board of governors, has been reelected chair of New Jersey Council of County Colleges (NJCCC).

The NJCCC provides statewide leadership and support to New Jersey’s 18 community colleges, which enroll more than 300,000 people each year in credit, non-credit, and workforce development courses at more than 70 campuses throughout the state. Community colleges also enroll nearly 100,000 students in non-credit programs and partner with thousands of businesses to meet their training and workforce needs.

Zimmermann was first elected chair of the New Jersey Council of County Colleges in 2021 and reelected chair on Dec. 5, 2022, at the quarterly council meeting.

“My goal is to help students achieve their dream of attending college so they may continue their education or gain skills for a good career or job,” Zimmerman said.

A Summit resident, Zimmermann is a self-described “professional volunteer.” She is also a member and prior chair of the Union County College Foundation Board. In addition to serving on the boards, Zimmermann has the distinction of being a proud graduate of the college.

Zimmermann is a past member of the Association of Community College Trustees’ Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee. In 2019, she received the 2019 Women of Excellence Lifetime Achievement Award given by the Union County Commission on the Status of Women.

Additionally, Zimmermann volunteers with many organizations. She is active with Meals on Wheels and the food pantry at St. Teresa of Avila Church. She is also past chair of the Summit Housing Authority (SHA), where she served for 16 years. The SHA owns and manages 195 low-rent family, elderly, and handicapped housing units.

“New Jersey’s 18 community colleges are truly fortunate to have Mary’s dedication and vision as the chair of the Council. Her commitment and passion for New Jersey’s 18 Community Colleges and their students are incredible, and we all look forward to another year of her leadership,” said Dr. Aaron R. Fichtner, NJCCC president.

Sheetal Ranjan, of Bergen Community College, was elected as vice chair of the NJCCC. Trustees-at-large elected were Jessica R. Stewart, of Camden County College, and Dorothy Hall, of Salem Community College. Members elected were Anthony J. Iacono, of the County College of Morris, as secretary; Michael R. Gorman, of Salem Community College, as treasurer; and Barbara Gaba, of Atlantic Cape Community College, as president-at-large.

NJCCC also presented Harvey Nutter, past chair of Passaic County Community College, with the Trustee Spotlight Award for his service and strong commitment and leadership to the college and to all New Jersey’s community colleges.

About NJCCC:

The New Jersey Council of County Colleges as created in 1989 to support and promote New Jersey’s 18 community colleges. Today, through more than 1,700 degree and certificate programs, as well as non-credit courses and customized workforce training programs, New Jersey community colleges are helping more students than ever. The New Jersey Community College Consortium for Workforce and Economic Development is a subsidiary of NJCCC. The Consortium brings together the community colleges as a collective to provide workforce development training and solutions.